The fog is lifting

IMG_0478

So now we are in the middle of July, and the fog has lifted.  Ideas are swarming like mosquitoes, and keep me awake at night as I think of ways to capture all these new kindergarteners who will be coming our way in less than a month.  The Reggio books are engaging my imagination and I am looking at everything I see with the eyes of Reggio Emilia.  Collections of “stuff” are growing as I think of ways in which those creative young minds could make these things new.  For instance, peach pits…  I bought a peck of the most delicious White Lady peaches on the way back from the mountains, sweet and succulent, and we ate every last bite.  I have saved the peach pits in a little jar, and think of ways in which the children might use these seeds in their art or in their drawings.

DSC_0001

Hardin is moving his space, which holds everything that won’t fit in our house.  In the space are puppets (life sized), costumes, fabric, props for OMIMEO, and a myriad of other things.  As we work our way through the space, boxing things to move, my imagination goes to work as I think of ways in which I could use this “stuff” in my classroom.   We now have a treasure box of well organized jars of beads, pearls, marbles, and glittery things that we’ll use next year.  Another idea is to create a “light box” from an old trunk, fitting the top with a translucent lid.  I’ll put a light inside creating a light table for the children to use as they explore the world of light.  Since we are going to see the black light show that OMIMEO is performing at the Children’s Theatre in October, I have a black light to hang under the loft, have made black curtains to enclose the space, and will give the children the opportunity to create creatures from uv “hot” materials under the black light.  By the time they go to the show, they’ll have a strong grasp of what they are experiencing.

IMG_0424 IMG_0425

Soon the children will walk through our door, and I feel sure they will be enriched as I have been through this summer as I have battled the ocean waves, watched dance at the American Dance Festival with Hardin and my friend Ann, hiked around the lake, made long, daily swims, cleaned out closets, read books to children, marched in the Fourth of July parade…. Everything that has made my summer so rich will also add to the gifts I can bring to our class.  Like adding a chunk of butter to finish a sauce, summer gives that irreplaceable “something” that makes my life complete.  By the time school starts I’ll be chomping at the bit, ready to make the most of the new school year.  But for now, there are a few more summer adventures to explore!

DSC_0007

3 thoughts on “The fog is lifting

  1. I have always picked up things on my walk for my science table. I have found myself thinking about my classroom and children and the excitement of sharing new things with them. I’ll be on the lookout for June bugs, beetles, lichen, and other treasures you may like to use with your Kindergarteners. I am also finding the things I would love to do with those Kindergarten classes for Scientific Facts! xoxo Tachi

  2. As Linda’s oldest continuing Kindergartner and husband of 30 years
    I can attest to Linda’s recharged engagement with the exploratory -observational wonderment that is so essential to a vibrant K-class. Incomers for 2014-15 are in for a great ride!
    This fall OMIMEO will present “Halloween Dream” @CTC Oct. 24-Nov.2 Using Black Light technique to create special effects (SFX) it will focus on the dreamworld of a young girl who will dance her way through a series of situations with unusual characters & creatures. With the help of Linda’s sister, Tachi, OMIMEO will develop a study guide to the science behind the SFX the audience will experience. Our theme is bioluminescence, how and why things glow in nature and the theater: A study of Light and how we see.
    As Linda mentioned, I’m also moving into a fascinating new Collaborative Space @ 20136th St 28205 called SEEDS that brings together the creativity of OMIMEO with the craft & play of Robotics with the science of Hydroponics & Aquaculture to support Mission efforts to feed folks in Haiti. This convergence will offer the STEM oriented curriculum as it reaches out to the educational communities of our area with links to Discovery Place.
    Not unlike a really cool Reggio Emilia space-place! Not unlike Linda’s
    K-verse!
    So here’s to the Experience of real time engagement of your children’s minds n bodies.
    Enjoy the process and play of Summer!
    Hardin

Leave a Reply

